My Sober Sunday

“A best friend is someone who understands your past, believes in your future and accepts you just the way you are today.”

I went shopping with one of my best friends, Caroline. It’s been so long since I’ve seen her, 3 months I believe. I began telling her about Gosport and what’s been going on lately and within saying a few words, she interrupted me and told me she is not looking forward to moving back down here. It made me feel strangely good, that I wasn’t the only person who thought there is more to live than this little town. I’m lucky to have such good friends who have ambition and loyalty. No matter what happens, how many mistakes I make or how often my depression wants to take me away, they are always there for me. I can honestly say I would be lost without them. I spent a good amount on their christmas presents and this year, they truly deserve it even more than they usually do. Tomorrow, we are meeting up with our other best friend who I haven’t seen in 2 months and I am so excited. We would usually be going down to spoons for drinks and a catch up but this year, its different. I’m not sure what the plan is yet but whatever we do, it will be a great catch up and it will be a great catch up without alcohol.

I had a lot of urges to give up and drink today because of seeing my best friend and when we’re together, we party a lot but it shows what a best friend she is by not even suggesting I can drink.

I am lucky.

Best buddies
Best buddies

I

Published by

dreambelievefightachieve

I have battled with mental health and substance misuse for years and this blog is about my journey. I hope it makes you laugh, makes you cry but most of all inspires you to live the best life you can 🦋

4 thoughts on “My Sober Sunday”

  1. Sounds like you have an amazing group of friends! So important!

    I find that certain situations and people ‘remind” me of drinking or I “associate” things with drinking – key triggers……. It’s taking time to retrain my brain that drink doesn’t = having fun and you may find that too.

    xx

    Like

      1. You may be pleasantly surprised when your friends realise you are even more fun sober!! And if some do criticise or question, remember it says more about their relationship with alcohol than it says about you x

        Like

Leave a comment