“You’re not giving up, you’re freeing yourself from it” – Wise Words of a Mother

Yesterday, me and my mum were driving back from The Xfactor Tour when she said something inspirational and I thought I would share if with you… As well as this picture!

IMG_2710

Anyone who has met my mum knows she has been through many difficult times and has a lot of advice. If you know my mum, you’ll also know she likes to talk… A lot.

You know those positive quote books you can buy, yeah that’s pretty much my mum. It’s great at times. However, you know you’ve been friends with someone too long when they start quoting your mum.

Anyway, we were talking about my sobriety and she said “I don’t understand why people think they’re giving up something when they stop smoking, drinking or taking drugs. You’re not giving up, you’re freeing yourself from it”.

She’s right.

Using the term “giving up” seems so negative and challenging. “Freeing yourself” is exactly what I’m doing. After all, I was somebody before alcohol was introduced to my life, I’m just freeing myself from it so I can be myself again.

Since I’ve stopped drinking, I am free.

IMG_2713

I have mental freedom.
I am more in control of my thoughts.

I have physical freedom.
I’m no longer feeling run down for days after a weekend bender. I feel healthier.

I have verbal freedom.
I make more sense when I talk and what I have to say is more interesting and positive.

I have emotional freedom.
I now know what emotion I feel is real. It’s not because I’m hungover and sensitive. It’s not because I acted stupid when I was drunk. Im in control of my emotions. I understand them.

So next time someone questions you or you question yourself, remember…

You’re not giving up alcohol like its negative, you’re freeing yourself from it to become your full potential.

10 comments

  1. Renee Coombs · February 19, 2015

    Your mum sounds amazing x;)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thesoberdrunkblog · February 19, 2015

    He’ll yeah! Really enjoyed reading this!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Water Girl NZ · February 20, 2015

    Yes, yes, yes! I love this so much! Thanks for sharing your (and your Mum’s) wisdom with us. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Water Girl NZ · February 20, 2015

    Reblogged this on watergirlblognz and commented:
    This is right on!

    Like

  5. Mike R. · February 20, 2015

    I think it takes some of us a bit of time to realize we are really freeing ourselves (took me a while!). Thank you for this. Your mom sounds like a really strong person, you’re so lucky to have her in your life!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Rika · February 21, 2015

    You and your mom are so lovely ❤ I wish I was that close with my mom 🙂
    I love the energy you're spreading here Fearless!! keep it up! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

